Skip to content

Why Use Goodreads?

August 8, 2011

by  Karen Johnson

It’s amazing how many authors have never heard of Goodreads!  To put it simply, Goodreads is an awesome site to highlight your book and yourself.  Think Facebook for authors.  Before you say “Oh is that all?” let me tell you, Goodreads is so much more.  Here is a quick rundown of the things Goodreads and the Goodreads Author’s Program can do for you and your book.

  • You can create author pages that readers can “fan” and share with other friends.
  • You can create pages for your books!  Readers can leave comments and recommend the books to others. You can even add excerpts from your books and video chats to tantalize readers!
  • You can set up purchase through Goodreads.  If your book is on Amazon or Barnes and Noble, it is automatically connected to Goodreads!
  • You can create your own communities and discussion groups to interact with your fellow authors and fans.
  • You can buy advertising on the Goodreads site.  This is excellent exposure to the entire Goodreads site.

There are also loads of free promotional uses for Goodreads! #andwhodosentlovefree!

  • Giveaways – Advertise book giveaways to the entire Goodreads community!
  • Genre – You can choose the different genre to categorize your books for maximum exposure.
  • Upcoming events – Use Goodreads to post book signings or any upcoming events you have scheduled.
  • Social Media – You can link your Goodreads page to Twitter, Facebook and your blog (you do have those, right?) for maximum exposure!

Goodreads can really help expose you to readers who may miss you in the jungle of book publishing.  Book reviewers populate Goodreads and many are on the lookout for new authors.  Making connections early in your writing career can pay off big in the future!  Goodreads gives you that access to people who truly love the written word and not just the book de jour.  If you are a new author, Goodreads is a great way to get your name out and create buzz for your book.  For veteran authors, Goodreads can become the place to help find a new audience for previously published books and create buzz for new ones.  Goodreads is a place that can open up new avenues for authors.  Don’t let the opportunity pass you by!  24,065 authors can’t be wrong!

High School Teacher, Grad Student, Author on the make! I’ve always been a book lover and writer.  My favorite genre is mystery and suspense but I’m open to everything! I have a book review blog called Release Notes and I’m also documenting my weight loss journey at my blog, The Skinny Girl Inside.  I am the Goodreads Coordinator for IBC and I’m thrilled because I’m learning what it takes to be a successful author.

My Twitter: @AlmostDrMoJo 
My Book Blog : Release Notes

15 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2011 7:26 pm

    At least for me, I found that Goodreads makes it a bit confusing for authors. You don’t want to just set up a Goodreads profile, which automatically creates a reader page for you. You want to go to the bottom of the Home page and click the Author Program link and then you have to send an email to apply and be approved as an author.

    I just figured this out, so I’m waiting for approval. So many websites, so little time…

  2. August 18, 2011 3:47 pm

    Terrific info! I’m excited to create an author page once I finally set a release date for my book. Thanks for this post!

  3. February 2, 2013 3:39 pm

    I appreciate, cause I found exactly what I
    used to be having a look for. You have ended my four day long hunt!
    God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

  4. April 9, 2013 12:11 pm

    Great beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend your site,
    how could i subscribe for a blog site? The account aided me a acceptable deal.
    I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright clear concept

  5. April 20, 2013 12:46 am

    Firstly, at some point in life, one is supposed to be.
    I had played with the beta for a while now, but the
    application is just straight-up ugly. But, a few months before it intends
    to get the card view, or single tap once to get to Android,
    iOS, and Android. In this argument, American trade authorities often brought up the matter
    of Farmacia On Line. The marketing of farmacia on line has been online
    by looking in the about page.

  6. June 6, 2013 2:28 am

    Incredible! This blog looks just like my old one!
    It’s on a completely different topic but it has pretty much the same page layout and design. Great choice of colors!

  7. June 12, 2013 11:09 am

    I do not even know how I ended up right here, however I assumed this post was once good.
    I don’t understand who you’re but certainly you are going
    to a well-known blogger when you are not already.

    Cheers!

  8. June 24, 2013 6:06 am

    Over time this will help improve a credit score substantially after many payments on
    the accounts have been made. If you have been a victim of identity
    theft, you are required to check your report at least once every month to track suspicious activity.
    The more money that you are able put down will lessen the amount of loan that is available to be subjected to interest.

  9. July 10, 2013 12:50 am

    If you are the style that does not believe that that your
    cat desires more than a box and some couple of toys, and you see no valid reason why you really
    should invest in a cat tree cat tree house, modern cat tree, modern cat tree residence cat
    tree house, cat tree condo, cat tree condo – hold on, you are
    about to have your head altered. They are becoming increasingly popular
    because rodents do not develop resistance to them.
    It talks about its range, habitat, hunting and preying, and reproduction habits.

  10. July 18, 2013 7:39 am

    Wasn’t Cinderella supposed to be mopping up messes anyway. The end-buyer’s deposit is being held by the investor and should be twice what his deposit is so the investor will make money even if he doesn’t close. Contrary to popular belief, wholesale almonds and other bulk wholesale nuts will not keep forever.

  11. July 28, 2013 3:08 am

    Whey is the watery substance that flows from milk when solids are pressed out for making cheese.
    As a body shop owner, I’ve found there are a couple resources for designing your own floor plan. Others aim for breaks from weight training workouts every several weeks, performing their weight training and cardiovascular sessions for 4-6 weeks, and then taking a 1-2 week sabbatical from bodybuilding before beginning another 4-6 week weight training and cardiovascular routine.

  12. March 6, 2014 11:10 am

    Pretty part of content. I simply stumbled upon your web site and in
    accession capital to claim that I acquire actually
    enjoyed account your blog posts. Anyway I will be
    subscribing to your augment or even I success you get entry to persistently rapidly.

  13. March 9, 2014 6:44 pm

    I constantly emailed this website post page to all
    my friends, as if like to read it next my friends will too.

  14. April 7, 2014 11:20 pm

    4) Triceps extensions – hold the dumbbell inn your hand and extend ypur hand
    perfectly above as high as you can. The princfess cut is an excellent choice
    for a solitaire. “My door is always open, Spencer,”
    shee replied, “And I’ll be praying for your success.

  15. June 11, 2014 6:02 am

    Hey! Would you mind if I share your blog with my facebook group?
    There’s a lot of people that I think would
    really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Thank you

Leave a Reply

