Skip to content

Indie Book Collective: A Newbie’s Perspective

June 13, 2011

by Kelli McCracken

 

You are a part of the Indie Book Collective. Great! Now what? From a newbie’s perspective, I’m sure you are scratching your head, wondering what it means to be IBC. Are there any perks? What exactly am I a part of? I understand your questions, because six months ago the same questions went through my mind.

So as a newbie, what does the IBC mean to you? For starters, you are among the like-minded. As writers, we are a solitary bunch. It’s important to surround yourself with supportive people. Most of us question our writing ability at some point. We wonder whether we should keep writing or give up. Having others who share our frustrations and challenges is like having a personal trainer. They are here to keep us focused and motivated.

I know firsthand the amount of support the IBC offers and I’ve learned to pay it forward and help others.

When I decided to do indie publishing, all I knew is that I wanted to go this route—but that was it. I didn’t know about eBooks, blog tours, or social media until I joined the IBC, watched their tweets and became involved. I didn’t understand what it truly meant to be indie, and I didn’t know the IBC could teach me everything I needed to know.

Many new members do not realize the IBC is more than a Twitter stream; we have a website as well. If you join the site, go to the grou.ps page, make a member profile, and join a genre group. Another great thing about grou.ps is our forum. We monitor this forum closely. You can post topics, ask questions, get tips, look for book reviewers, or even get/offer support.

Let’s discuss Twitter. #noneedtocringe. I confess. Before the IBC, I hated Twitter. #yep. Despised it, didn’t understand it, didn’t know why, as a writer, I needed it. I came close to closing my account. The IBC changed that. How? #keepreading.

You may or may not know about the IBC’s social media webinar on the second Tuesday of every month. This free workshop teaches you the ins and outs of Twitter, how to tweet, how to brand, how to grow your followers, and so much more. It works. Trust me. I went from around fifty followers to one thousand in three months. I followed every instruction taught. My numbers continue to increase, daily.

Being a part of the IBC is more than just following the stream on Twitter. We can teach you:

  • How to market your book effectively
  • How to grow your readership
  • How to format your eBook
  • How to optimize your Amazon page

These aren’t the only things we do at the IBC. There’s much more.

You have to take an active role in your career.

  • Get involved
  • Chat with other members
  • Read blog posts, tweets, and tips.

Being indie doesn’t mean you have to do it alone. It doesn’t have to be a confusing, scary path. It can be exciting, fulfilling, and rewarding. Welcome to the Indie Book Collective.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Kelli McCracken is an upcoming author whose paranormal romance novel, What the Heart Wants, will debut summer of 2011. She is a staff member with the Indie Book Collective and coordinates for the IBC’s sister stream, ParaYourNormal. You can find Kelli on Twitter @Kelli_McCracken, On Facebook, as well as her personal blog.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2011 12:59 pm

    Kelli thank you for this great post. It has made me feel better about IBC. Glad I joined.

    • June 13, 2011 1:16 pm

      Thanks Babs! The IBC is amazing. I’m still in awe of everything I’ve learned since becoming a member. I hope everyone can benefit from the IBC as much as I have.

  2. June 13, 2011 1:28 pm

    Kelli,
    Just joined and loved reading your post, I can breath now, not so nervous. 🙂 Thank you
    Natalie

    • June 13, 2011 2:04 pm

      Welcome to the Indie Book Collective, Natalie! Thanks for commenting! I’m glad you enjoyed the post.

  3. June 13, 2011 3:12 pm

    Nat I told you not to be nervous that you were going to love it :).

  4. June 13, 2011 4:09 pm

    Your welcome Kelli I did enjoy the post, you are right as always Babs I do so far 🙂

    • June 13, 2011 4:47 pm

      No need to be nervous. The IBC is full of friendly, helpful writers. I’ve never met more supportive people until I found this group. I’m honored to be a part of it all.

Leave a Reply

