Skip to content

Twitter Branding

June 6, 2011

by Kimberly Kinrade

When I joined Twitter last September I was a total social media moron. #Seriously

Sure, I had a blog I wrote in once a month, which only had three followers. All of whom were related to me, none of whom actually read the darn thing.

Then I discovered Twitter, and my world was officially rocked.

Now I get hundreds of hits on my blog per day, and it’s on the rise. I have thousands of Twitter followers, a book published, and two more on the way in the next few months.

I met my web designer on Twitter, a few of my closest friends, ALL of my readers and even my fiancé.

To say Twitter changed my life, would be an understatement. I made every mistake possible when I joined Twitter, and I had almost no followers. Then I found the light. I learned how to brand myself. #noitdoesnthurt #orscar For Twitter to work, we have to work it. #thatmeansbranding What’s Your Word?

In the movie “Eat, Pray, Love” there’s a scene that talks about a city’s word, and the main character then goes on a quest to discover her ‘word.’ That one word which encapsulates all of who she is.

Well, on Twitter you don’t have to pick just one word. We’ll let you have three. #werecoolthatway

This is a little trick I learned from my friends here at the Indie Book Collective. #whoImetonTwitter

Find the three words that represent what you want people to know about your work. Then make those words sing for you in each tweet.

Mine? Magic, Love and Chocolate.

Why?

Magic. I write YA fantasy. #duh So I tweet snippets of my work that plays up the magic and intrigue of my books and blogs. I give witty responses to other magically oriented tweeters in the Twitterverse and re-tweet fun magical facts or any relevant info on the fantasy, YA genre.

This has been so effective, people have tried to buy my books even though they are not published yet.Love. There’s romance in my older YA work, so love has its role. Also, my first book was not actually a YA fantasy. It was a darker collection of short stories and essays about life and love. Many of my blog posts deal with this topic. I also write a love blog with my fiancé and we are kinda known for our super sweet #lovetweets.

Chocolate? Ok, I’ll admit that this one is a little harder to understand. Unless you’re female. #thenyougetit Chocolate is the food of the gods with many magical properties. ( See how I did that? I just branded chocolate into my fantasy. #itsthateasy)

So pick your words. Work them into your personal brand as an author and make every tweet count.

1. Find like minded folks and get in convo about the things that make you tick. I tweet with other fantasy writers and readers. Comment on cool tweets. Share books and blogs relevant to the genre and tweet out the juicy bits of your #WIP.

2. If you have conflicting brands (like YA Fantasy and a dark collection that deals with abuse…for example) make it work for you. My bio? I’m a YA fantasy author whose first book was not YA. I make it work and attract readers who will like both styles. The fact is, many YA fantasy readers are not teens. They’re adult women who love a great story.

3. Tweet as if the world is watching, because it is. Do you want your readers to know you and love you? Then show them what you’ve got with every tweet. You never know who might be watching your stream.

See? Branding is not that hard, and it can be life changing. If I can go from social media moron to social media savvy, then anyone can. #trustmeonthis

If you want to learn more about branding or Twitter, sign up for the Indie Book Collective’s FREE Social Media for Writer’s class on Tuesday, June 14 at 5:45pm PST. Email us at IndieBookIBC@gmail.com. For information about other upcoming workshops, join the collective, visit our site, or follow us on Twitter!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Kimberly Kinrade is a Young Adult Fantasy author whose first book, Bits of You & Pieces of Me, was not YA Fantasy but rather a collection of short stories, essays and poems that explore the dark side of love and loss. Kimberly has been selling her work professionally since she was 10 and ran out of teeth to hawk to the Toothfairy.

Stalk her on Twitter, Facebook and her blog and keep an eye out for Death by Destiny and The Reluctant Familiar, two summer releases that are YA Fantasy.

Did you hear the amazing, outstanding and fantastic results from Memorial Day’s Blog Tour de Troops event?

33 authors banded together, giving a free ebook to every single commenter plus one for a troop. They raised enough money to buy 7 Kindles for troops and felt so humbled by the outpouring response that together are donating 10,000 ebooks to our troops.

That’s right! 10,000 ebooks of over 40 titles to our troops. Bestsellers! Award-winners!

A special thanks to everyone who came ‘out’ to support our troops in commenting, donating and spreading word.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2011 12:07 pm

    I have learned quit a bit from this post. I never knew about the 3 words. I will have to work on this.

  2. Jackie permalink
    June 6, 2011 4:50 pm

    This post was thought provoking. I’ve been on Twitter since 2009 but only started using my stream for my writing. I never thought about my brand or anything. I’m seriously going to give this some thought. Thanks

  3. June 6, 2011 4:52 pm

    Babs, the three words were tricky for me, but it’s fun to see how each tweet can speak of who you are. #nomatterwhatthetweet

    Jackie, good luck with your new focus. You will find twitter to be an amazing branding opportunity.

  4. June 6, 2011 9:21 pm

    Thanks for the great post. I am reminded of figuring out the theme of my novel, and my life. I make a sentence, then also choose three to five words.

  5. June 7, 2011 12:57 pm

    very interesting – can’t think what my three would be – er – thinking cap please

  6. June 7, 2011 10:20 pm

    Thanks Kim! I’ve got some thinking to do about my three words..I can only come up with two right now but I might take one that you gave me on Twitter. 🙂

  7. June 7, 2011 11:48 pm

    CurtissAnn, EXACTLY! 🙂 You got it!
    Alberta: You can borrow my thinking cap. Though it may have run out of steam. I had a hard time coming up with mine and I’ve already tweaked them! lol
    Jennifer: You are awesome! You helped me fine tune my words. I’m sure yours are great 🙂

  8. June 9, 2011 3:47 pm

    On behalf of IBC thank you everyone that has stopped by and posted. I thought the post was interesting myself and will have to think of 3 good words.

    Be sure to follow IBC on twitter and also The Group Forum @ Indie Book Collective Grou.ps

  9. June 13, 2011 1:26 pm

    The timing of this post was perfect for me. I’m not a huge fan of Twitter, but I believe presence there is no longer an option, it’s a necessity. Having a game plan will definitely help sustain my momentum!

  10. June 13, 2011 4:48 pm

    If you embrace it, Twitter can be lots of fun! I’m glad this post was helpful for you! 🙂

  11. June 13, 2011 5:21 pm

    I like the concrete, practical advice of the three words. I’ve been tweeting for a couple of years, but only recently as a marketing tool. Do you recommend having a separate professionally-focused Twitter account, or being more intentional about tweets on a single account?

  12. June 15, 2011 12:31 am

    Donna,
    It depends on what fits for you. I only have one twitter account that I use for all my connections, books and writing. But if what you do professionally and who you are personally are too different (for example, personally you are a kindergarten teacher and professionally you write intense horror books…you might want to consider two accounts for that)

    You need to asses how easily your personal and professional mesh and if they can play well together. That will determine whether or not you need to branch out.

    🙂

  13. July 1, 2011 7:46 am

    Tweet as if the world is watching, because it is. – love this one and it is quite true. You may never know who are looking at your tweet. I’ve known someone who simply tweet whatever he likes and in the end generate more criticisms and enemies than followers. So, bottomline, it is more like twitting with much care.

Trackbacks

  1. Twitter Branding « To Self Publish or Not to Self Publish….

Leave a Reply

