Skip to content

An Indie Blogger Tells All

April 30, 2012

by Miranda Lynn
owner of  My Eclectic Bookshelf

What do I think when I hear the term Indie Author? That’s a great question posed to me not long ago, and one that every book blogger has a different answer to. Me, well I get excited. I LOVE Indie Authors—not all my experiences have been positive, but most of them have so I continue to get excited about Indie Authors. Here’s why.

The first things that come to mind when I hear Indie Author is, cheap books. Yes, I will be honest, I started reading Indie Authors for two reasons: a good friend recommended the book and it was under 3 bucks. Hey, I could afford that even if the book turned out to be bad, and I wasn’t out a ton of money. Boy, was I pleasantly surprised when I found that I couldn’t put the story down and wanted more when I reached the end.

Next I learned that the author was easily accessible.  She had a Facebook page, blog, Twitter account, and email account so I could contact her. Best of all, she responded on all of these venues and fairly quickly. Yippee! I can now say I know an amazing author personally. How many people can really say that? (well ok, many of you can but hey it was a highlight in my life!)

Realizing that the authors of Indie Books were more accessible made a light bulb go off in my head. Here is my chance to have authors on my blog! Woohoo, happy dance.  I knew I would never have a chance in hell of getting a big time publishing house author to guest post or do an interview for my little blog, but an Indie Author, maybe I might have a chance at getting her to visit and share something fun with the few readers I had at the time.  That was the start of having Indie Authors stop and visit with my readers and me.

Now, not all Indie Authors are so nice and responsive and considerate of a book blogger’s schedule and commitments. I have had my share of those that send an email, requesting a review (even though my blog states that I am taking no more requests at the time), giving me a time limit on getting it done, requesting to read the review first and have final say on whether it will be published or not, etc. Then even after I reply with a thanks but no thanks, the author sends a follow up email yelling as to why I haven’t gotten my review to him/her. Uh…duh…clueless much? Yeah, not the way to treat someone you want to help you and your book look good.

Now when I deal with an author of any kind who tends to travel that clueless road, I try to help them and give them a bit of advice. When working with book bloggers, remember that their blogs, tweets, Facebook status updates, and all posted reviews are their babies. Just as your book is your baby, you should treat bloggers with the respect and attention you want them to give you. If you can do that, then you will have a wonderful relationship. And who doesn’t want that?  It’s how your build your followers and readers.

~~~

Miranda Lynn is a book blogger extraordinaire, owner of the My Eclectic Bookshelf, enjoying all the amazing worlds she finds in each book. An aspiring author herself, she can appreciate all the finer points of writing, reading, and the struggles of getting those musings in front of others. Having recently found her dream job as a library clerk, she is admittedly in reader heaven on a daily basis. She shares her excitement of reading with her two children, husband, her four legged kids, and everyone who stops by her blog.  Make sure to add My Eclectic Bookshelf to your list and visit regularly to see what books she has read and what she is up to in her own writing. You can also find her and the voices in her head at her website, blog,  Facebook and Twitter.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2012 10:40 am

    Hi Miranda Lynn,

    Thanks for an informative post from the blogger’s side of things and I’m sorry you’ve had some negative experiences with Indies :( but glad you find most fun to connect with and get to know, we’re generally a pretty easy going albeit wacky lot. As an Indie author myself it’s great to know there are peeps out there like you! Thank you for your support.

    Kymber Morgan

  2. barbarahenderson permalink
    April 30, 2012 1:13 pm

    A very good post. Interesting as a new indie author to see how much pressure reviewers like yourself are under. Hope I would never be so rude as some of those authors have been!

  3. April 30, 2012 1:23 pm

    “…time limit on getting it done, requesting to read the review first and have final say on whether it will be published or not.”

    Are you kidding me? Wow. I can’t help but wonder if it’s the whole internet anonymity thing. How many people would walk up to a perfect stranger and make the same sort of demands in person?

    Thanks for the guest post! I’m tweeting the link ;-)

  4. stephanieberget permalink
    April 30, 2012 2:24 pm

    What a great and informative post. Its interesting to see the blogger’s point of view. Some poeple are the very definition of rude, but I’ve found most are wonderful.

  5. May 2, 2012 10:45 am

    Interesting post. Perhaps what is a ‘big time publishing house’ author is all in one’s point of reference. I’m perhaps not in that category to you, but to some I am. Sometimes I think we limit ourselves because of what we perceive. I know highly successful authors must guard their time, but I also know a few of them personally, and they are just as happy to answer a book bloggers questions as anyone. If an author has a website, send them an email. Take a chance they might answer. And yes, some people are amazingly clueless and rude in this internet world, but as the person ahead of me said, most are wonderful. Thanks for this post, introducing yourself.

  6. March 22, 2013 11:36 am

    Fantastic post however , I was wanting to know if you could write a litte more on this subject?

    I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit more. Thank you!

  7. May 8, 2013 11:52 am

    I drop a leave a response whenever I like a post on a website or I have something to add to the conversation.
    It is triggered by the sincerness displayed in the post
    I browsed. And after this article An Indie Blogger Tells All | Indie
    Book Collective. I was moved enough to post a thought ;-) I actually do have 2 questions for you if it’s allright. Could it be just me or do some of these responses appear like they are written by brain dead people? :-P And, if you are posting at additional online social sites, I’d like to follow you.
    Would you list all of all your communal sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

    . Did you know you can certainly http://www.uscasting.tv/index.
    php?/member/111023 at a discount?
    Trend to how to get more twitter followers is to include celebrities recruit
    a article in your case.
    get more twitter followers Low-cost in addition to Secure to get twitter
    profile.

  8. July 22, 2013 6:42 pm

    My partner and I stumbled over here different website and thought I may as well check
    things out. I like what I see so i am just following
    you. Look forward to exploring your web page again.

  9. September 3, 2014 8:58 am

    An outstanding share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a friend who
    has been doing a little homework on this. And he actually ordered
    me breakfast due to the fact that I found it for
    him.. lol. So let me reword this.. Thanks for the meal!!
    But yeah, thanx for spending some time to talk about this topic here on your blog.
    instagram
    instagram

  10. September 11, 2014 3:53 pm

    Hello, I think your website might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog in Opera, it looks fine
    but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some
    overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!

    Other then that, fantastic blog! youtube
    youtube

  11. September 23, 2014 1:12 am

    Hello mates, its enormous post on the topic of educationand
    fully explained, keep it up all the time. instagram
    instagram

Trackbacks

  1. Guest Post with Janiera Eldridge – Marketing: Indie Style | Rhachelle Nicol'

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 261 other followers

